Experienced. Aggressive. Successful.

Violation of Protective Orders

Violating a protective order is a serious offense in the state of Utah. A protective order can only be granted where a trier of fact finds that the petitioner is in an abusive environment, or is in imminent danger of being abused. If an abuser violates this order despite this finding, penalties are severe.

Despite any justifications you may provide, violating a protective order can result in time in prison, expensive feeds, and additional charges on your record. Speaking with a criminal defense attorney can mean the difference between a felony and a misdemeanor.


Back to top

Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law Salt Lake City Protective Orders Violation Defense Attorney

If you have violated the conditions of a protective order or believe there is probable cause to find you in violation of a protective order, you need to speak with an attorney promptly. Susanne Gustin is a defense attorney with years of experience in domestic violence cases.

For free consultation to discuss your legal strategy, call Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814. This firm serves clients in Salt Lake City, Davis County, and surrounding areas.


Back to top

Violation of Protective Orders Information Center


Back to top

Violation of Protective Orders Defined

Utah Code §76-5-108 finds a person in violation of a protective order when he or she intentionally or knowingly violates the specific conditions of said order.


Back to top

Penalties for Violating Protective Orders

Violating a protective order carries penalties which increase with the severity and frequency of the violation. Penalties for the first offense are classified as a class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and/or up to $2,500 in fines unless a greater penalty is specified by 77-36.

Repeat violations may be increased to a third-degree felony punishable by up to five years in prison and/or $5,000 in fines.


Back to top

More Information on Violating Protective Orders

Utah Code-Utah’s state site provides a complete list of statutes on violating protective orders.

Utah Courts- This state-run site offers request forms for protective orders and provides a domestic violence hotline for victims.


Back to top

Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law Salt Lake County Protective Orders Violation Defense Lawyer

If you have violated a protective order against a domestic violence victim, no matter the reason, you are at risk of jail time and fines. Call Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 to speak with a skilled defense attorney with experience in domestic violence cases.

Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law serves Salt Lake City County, Davis County, and neighboring areas.


Back to top