Being accused of a crime is a scary event for anyone, especially for first-time offenders. You may feel pressured to speak to your arresting officers without an attorney. Also, you may feel pushed into relinquishing your rights.
First-time offenders of sex crimes, violent crimes, and property crimes often make the mistake of pleading guilty out of fear. Pleading guilty without seeking a defense attorney’s advice can extremely dangerous to your freedom.
Without a skilled attorney’s advice, pleading guilty may lead to lengthy jail time, expensive crimes, or other avoidable punishment.
Salt Lake City First-Time Offender Defense Attorney
Susanne Gustin is a criminal defense attorney with decades of experience defending a wide range of clients both felonies and misdemeanor crimes.
If you are a first-time offender accused of any of the aforementioned crimes, you need a defense attorney to help you sort through your legal options. Call Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 for your free consultation.
Susanne Gustin will fight to keep you out of jail. Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law services clients in Salt Lake City, South Salt Lake, Holladay, Midvale, and surrounding areas.
First-Time Offender Information Center
- First-Time Offenders of Felony Crimes
- First-Time Offenders of Misdemeanor Crimes
- More Information for First-Time Offenders
First-Time Offenders of Felony Crimes
Under Utah law, individuals convicted of felony crimes often face the heaviest penalties. Despite first-time offender status, individuals convicted of a felony face lengthy prison sentences, exorbitant fines, and loss of professional licenses.
Felony crimes are typically divided into four categories: third degree, second degree, first degree, and capital offenses. Generally, these categories carry the following consequences:
- Third-degree felony: Up to five years in prison, and/or up to $5,000 in fines.
- Second-degree felony: One to 15 years in imprisonment, and/or up to $10,000 in fines.
- First-degree felony: Minimum five years to life imprisonment, and/or up to $10,000 in fines.
- Capital offense: Minimum sentence of 30 years imprisonment, life sentence without possibility of parole, or the death penalty.
These penalties are subject to change depending on the crime, the factors of the individual’s case, and the victim.
First-Time Offenders of Misdemeanor Crimes
Unlike felony crimes, misdemeanor crimes do not typically include lengthy prison sentences. However, misdemeanors are also separated into categories according to severity. These categories are as follows:
- Class C misdemeanor: Maximum 90 days in jail, and/or a maximum of $750 in fines.
- Class B misdemeanor: Maximum six months in jail, and/or up to $1,000 in fines.
- Class A misdemeanor: Maximum of one year in jail, and/or up to $2,500 in fines.
These penalties will also vary according to the details of the crime.
More Information on First-Time Offenders
Utah State Legislature-This state site provides information on criminal offenses and their penalties.
Utah Courts– This site provides a list of felony and misdemeanor categories and their respective penalties.
Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law Salt Lake County First-Time Offenders Defense Attorney
Whether you have been charged with a felony or a misdemeanor, you need a criminal defense attorney equipped to take your case to court if necessary. Susanne Gustin is that attorney. With years of experience in Utah courts, she is prepared to fight diligently on your behalf.
Call Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 to discuss the details of your case. Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law serves Salt Lake City, Davis County, Riverton, Cottonwood Heights, Midvale, Holladay, Layton, Bountiful, Clearfield, and surrounding areas.