Though more states are beginning to accept marijuana as a legal recreation drug, or as an approved medical substance, the state of Utah still bans the use of marijuana. Marijuana is included in the list of controlled substances under the Controlled Substance Act.
Many people do not consider marijuana a hard drug; however, the state of Utah penalizes marijuana offenses similarly to any other controlled substance.
Whether facing charges regarding possession of marijuana, distribution of marijuana, transportation of marijuana, intent to sell, or any other marijuana-related offense the consequences of a conviction can have serious effects on your future.
If you have been charged with any of the aforementioned marijuana offenses or any other marijuana offense, you need legal representation. Call Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 for a consultation with a skilled defense lawyer.
If convicted, a defendant may face time in prison, exorbitant fines, a loss of certain licenses, and the social stigma of having a criminal record. An experienced criminal defense lawyer can work with you to examine the details of your case and find any possible defense against the prosecution.
Susanne Gustin has more than 24 years of courtroom experience. She has defended numerous clients against some of the most serious drug offenses. She is prepared to work tirelessly for you to achieve an acquittal or to minimize your charges. This firm serves Salt Lake City, Davis County, and surrounding areas.
The Utah Controlled Substance Act covers a wide range of illegal substances and analogs. Utah Code §58-37-8-2(b)(i) states that it is illegal for anyone to knowingly and intentionally possess or use a controlled substance analog or a controlled substance.
There is an exception if the substance was obtained under a valid prescription or order directly from a practitioner who was acting in the course of his professional practice, or as otherwise authorized by this statute.
Upon conviction of a marijuana offense, the penalties will vary depending on surrounding circumstances. Individuals with prior convictions may be sentenced more harshly than first-time offenders.
In addition, if the defendant caused bodily harm during the marijuana offense, penalties will also be heightened. As of October 1, 2015, Utah has removed the tiered penalty structure for possession of marijuana.
However, individuals convicted of a marijuana offense may still face misdemeanor charges to third-degree felonies. The maximum penalties for these crimes are up to five years in prison and/or up to $5,000 in fines.
Utah State Legislature-This state site offers full legislation on marijuana and other illegal substance laws and penalties.
Marijuana Policy Project- This organization is aimed at legalized medical marijuana usage and decriminalizing use of the drug.
If you have been charged with marijuana possession or any related drug offense, you need a lawyer on your side to work diligently toward your freedom. Call Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 to speak with attorney Susanne Gustin. She will work with you to improve your situation. This firm represents clients in Salt Lake County, Davis County, and neighboring cities.