Minors are often tempted to unlawfully consume alcohol illegally due to outside influences. While teenagers may think that unlawful consumption isn't a big deal, the Utah criminal justice system takes it very seriously. Penalties for violating Utah’s strict alcohol laws can be severe and often include stiff fines, incarceration, and driver’s license suspension.
If you’ve been charged with illegally buying alcohol, it’s important to obtain a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. A reputable and skilled underage drinking attorney in Utah can walk you through your available options and assist in disputing all charges. This is where Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law steps in.
If your or your child have been arrested and charged with underage drinking, it is in your best interest to have experienced legal representation. Instead of challenging your charges alone, criminal defense attorney Susanne Gustin can help. She will work tirelessly to have these charges reduced or completely dismissed.
Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law represents minors accused of this crime in Salt Lake County or Davis County, including Salt Lake City, Taylorsville, and several surrounding areas. Utah underage drinking attorney Susanne Gustin is well respected for her passionate defense strategies, and her dedication to working on her clients’ behalf. Call her at (801) 243-2814 to schedule a free, initial consultation and discuss your case.
The state of Utah carries strict alcohol laws. Per Utah Code 32B-4-409, it is illegal for a minor to purchase, consume, or ask another individual to buy alcohol for them. An individual that violates this statute can face a class B misdemeanor. A class B misdemeanor is punishable up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. Additionally, the minor’s driver’s license can be suspended for up to one year.
It may not come as a surprise that many minors use fake IDs to obtain alcohol underage. Utah carries strict laws which prevent an individual under 21 years of age from utilizing a fake ID to buy or consume alcohol. If an individual has a fake name, age, or address on their identification, they can face a class C misdemeanor.
However, if a minor utilizes a person’s real information to represent their own identity, they will face a class A misdemeanor. This charge carries the possibility of serving one year in jail or paying up to $2,000 in fines.
As stated previously, it is illegal to sell alcohol to an individual under 21 years of age. The consequences of unlawfully selling alcohol to a minor can be expensive and potentially follow an individual for years. According to Utah Code 32B-4-403, first violations that include age misrepresentation are guilty of a class B misdemeanor. Just like the underage drinking statute, A class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
An adult who unlawfully sells alcohol to a minor when they know the minor is underage may be convicted of a class A misdemeanor. A class A misdemeanor can be punishable by up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. In addition to criminal penalties, underage drinking charges can also result in a difficult time gaining employment.
Underage Drinking: Alcohol Policy Information System – Click the link to visit the Alcohol Policy Information System website. The website provides policy topics related to underage possession of alcohol, underage consumption of alcohol, internal possession by minors, and more in the state of Utah.
Utah Code: Unlawful Sale of Alcohol to a Minor in Utah – Visit Utah Code 32B-4-403 which constitutes the unlawful sale of alcohol to a minor crime. The webpage defines the offense and lists certain definitions related to the term. Click on the link to read more about the offense penalties.
Utah Code: Unlawful Consumption of Alcohol as a Minor – Click to the link to view Utah Code 32B-4-409 which constitutes the unlawful consumption of alcohol as a minor offense. The webpage defines the crime and lists certain definitions related to the term. Click on the link to read more about the offense penalties.
If you have been charged with unlawful consumption of alcohol as a minor, you will require an attorney skilled in litigation. Utah law allows for harsh consequences for those convicted, so finding the proper defense strategy is important. An experienced law firm such as Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law can help to minimize the consequences of one bad choice.
Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law serves Salt Lake City, Davis County, Riverton, Cottonwood Heights, Midvale, Holladay, Layton, Bountiful, Clearfield, and surrounding areas. Call (801) 243-2814 today to receive a free, initial consultation. With years of experience in Utah courts, criminal defense attorney Susanne Gustin is prepared to fight diligently on your behalf.