Disorderly conduct is commonly associated with public intoxication; however, intoxication is not required to be charged with this offense. A disorderly conduct charge focuses more on inappropriate behaviors conducted in a public place.
This type of offense is typically considered a minor infraction; however, it is still wise to seek legal counsel to determine the proper solution to your problem. Attorney Susanne Gustin of Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law understands how frightening it can be to face criminal charges of disorderly conduct. She will aggresively defend you and assist you in navigating the process as easily as possible.
If you are facing disorderly conduct charges, it will likely be most beneficial for you to seek counsel from an experienced defense attorney. Unfortunately, a conviction can lead to severe consequences such as imprisonment and/or fines. Susanne Gustin can discuss your options to try to avoid permanent harm to your record.
Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law represents clients in Salt Lake County, Utah. Attorney Susanne Gustin also defends individuals in West Valley City, West Jordan, Sandy, Taylorsville, and several surrounding areas. Your first consultation is free so call (801) 243-2814 right now to schedule one.
Utah code defines disorderly conduct as:
Disorderly conduct carries somewhat minor consequences; however, it can still serve as a hindrance to employment opportunities. Some of these penalties include fines, forfeiture, disqualification, or any combination. According to Chapter 9, Title 76 of the Utah Code, an individual who is convicted of disorderly conduct is guilty of an infraction. An infraction is considered less than a misdemeanor charge. It is punishable by a fine of up to $750.00
However, a disorderly conduct offense can be escalated to a Class C misdemeanor, if the violation occurs after the individual was previously asked to stop the conduct. A Class C misdemeanor is punishable by up to 3 months in jail and a fine of $750.00.
It can be charged as a Class B misdemeanor if the individual was previously convicted of disorderly conduct within the past 5 years. A Class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00. The disorderly conduct charge can also escalate to a Class A misdemeanor if the individual has been convicted of disorderly conduct more than twice within the past five years. A class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Utah Code: Disorderly Conduct - Click on this link to view Chapter 9 of the Utah Code. It constitutes offenses against public order and decency. Disorderly Conduct is outlined in Title 76. Visit the webpage to learn more information about the offense and its penalties.
Utah Department of Human Services: Domestic Violence - Click the link to view the Utah Department of Human Services webpage. The website lists the LINKline which operates 24-7. It is a statewide domestic violence information line that will link you to free help, including counseling, shelter, transportation, advocacy, and other services.
If you have been charged with disorderly conduct, it's best to seek experienced legal representation as soon as possible. Susanne Gustin carries more than 24 years of experience as a trial attorney. She will fight aggressively on your behalf.
Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law represents clients in Salt Lake County, Davis County, Sandy, South Jordan, Mount Olympus, Alta, Holladay, South Salt Lake, Herriman, East Millcreek, Cottonwood West, and neighboring cities. Do not face a disorderly conduct offense alone. Call (801) 243-2814 immediately to obtain a free and confidential initial consultation. We are prepared to review your case.