Included with many of the harsh jail and prison penalties for a conviction for a sex crime in Utah, a conviction may also require registration on the Utah sex offender registry. The registry serves as a means of public notification of the names of people convicted of any sexual offense.
Under Utah law, a conviction for any type of sex offense can eventually lead to placement on the Utah sex offender registry. Even a low-level misdemeanor for a sex offense such as lewdness can have a lifetime impact on your record.
Susanne Gustin will do everything possible to have your charges reduced to a non-sexual offense.
Susanne Gustin is a sex crime defense attorney with more than 24 years of experience. From the offices in Salt Lake City, Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law provides aggressive criminal defense to help people charged with sex offenses keep their names off the registry.
Call Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 to set up a free consultation to work towards a solution.
Utah code §77-41-105 requires convicted sex offenders and kidnapping offenders to register with Utah’s sex offender registry and surrender their licenses, certificates, or identification cards. They may apply for replacement documentation at a later date.
Registry requires an offender to provide all names and aliases, addresses, a physical description, vehicle identification number and a series of additional personal information. Annual registry is required for the duration of the sentence and ten years following.
An offender who knowingly fails to comply with Utah’s registry requirements is guilty of a third-degree felony. Punishment for this act is a minimum of 90 days in jail and at least a year of probation if registry was required for a felony conviction.
Punishment for this offense could also carry a penalty of a class A misdemeanor with a minimum of 90 days in jail and minimum one year of probation if required to register for a misdemeanor conviction.
Failed registry will result in required registry for an additional year for every year in which the offender does not meet registry requirements.
The following is a partial list of the felony sex offenses that can result in registration on the Utah sex offender registry. However, don't wait to call an attorney if you have been charged with any criminal offense of a sexual nature.
Utah State Legislature- This state sponsored site provides all current legislation on Utah’s sex offender registry requirements and penalties.
Utah Department of Corrections- This state department site provides information on the sex offender registry and statistics regarding sex crimes in Utah.
Discover the difference an experienced sexual assault lawyer will make at this tough time of your life. Contact Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 to arrange a consultation to discuss your charges right away.
From her offices in Salt Lake City, Susanne represents clients in communities throughout Salt Lake County and Davis County.