Sex Offender Regulations

Various requirements may apply to sex offenders in Utah. These requirements include the following:

  • Sex offenders from out of state must register within ten days of entering Utah, regardless of the length of their stay in Utah
  • Sex offenders that are on probation or parole must register with their probation or parole office
  • Sex offenders not on probation or parole must register with their local police department or sheriff’s office
  • Sex offenders must register twice each year
  • Sex offenders cannot communicate with children under the age of 17
  • Sex offenders cannot communicate with the victims of their crimes
  • Sex offenders cannot possess pornography
  • Sex offenders cannot drink alcohol or use drugs
  • Sex offenders must inform their supervisors if they leave the county they live in
  • Sex offenders must register within three business days of every change in:
    • primary residence
    • secondary residence
    • place of employment
    • vehicle registration
    • educational status

Utah Sex Offender Regulations Attorney

Sex crime allegations can be devastating, not to mention humiliating. If convicted, you face years of imprisonment, significant fees, and lifetime sexual offender or sexual predator registration. Utah criminal defense attorney Susanne Gustin at Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law has over 30 years defending individuals arrested for sex offenses. She knows how threatening these severe consequences and hostile prosecutors can be.

Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law services clients in Salt Lake City, Davis County, and surrounding areas. Call (801) 243-2814 to schedule a free consultation today and discuss all of your options with attorney Susanne Gustin.


Back to top

Information Center


Back to top

What Places Must Sex Offenders Avoid In Utah?

Registered sex offenders are not allowed in certain places. If convicted of a crime against a minor, sex offenders must avoid the following five protected zones:

  • Licensed daycares or preschools
  • Primary and secondary schools
  • Community parks that are open to the public
  • Swimming pools that are open to the public
  • Playgrounds that are open to the public

Back to top

What Crimes In Utah Count As Sex Offenses For The Purposes Of The Utah Sex Offender Registry?

In Utah, there are many crimes that, upon conviction, will cause an individual to be considered a sex offender and require them to register as such. Depending on the severity of the crime, an individual may have to register for a minimum of 10 years, or they may have to register for life.

The crimes that require registering as a sex offender for at least ten years include the following:

  • Attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit any felony sex offense listed below
  • Voyeurism
  • Lewdness (four or more convictions)
  • Lewdness involving a child
  • Custodial sexual relations (if the victim was under 18 years old)
  • Unlawful sexual activity with a minor
  • Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17-year-old
  • Sexual abuse of a minor
  • Sexual exploitation of a vulnerable adult
  • Sexual battery (four or more convictions)
  • Incest
  • Kidnapping
  • Forcible sexual abuse
  • Aggravated human trafficking

The crimes that require registering as a sex offender for life include the following:

  • Two or more convictions of any of the sex crimes above that require registering for ten years
  • Enticing a minor over the internet
  • Sexual exploitation of a minor
  • Sexual abuse of a child
  • Aggravated sexual abuse of a child
  • Aggravated sexual assault
  • Aggravated exploitation of prostitution
  • Child kidnapping
  • Aggravated kidnapping
  • Rape
  • Rape of a child
  • Object rape
  • Object rape of a child
  • Forcible sodomy
  • Sodomy on a child

Back to top

Can A Sex Offender Be Removed From The Utah Sex Offender Registry?

Yes, it is possible to petition to be removed from the sex offender and kidnapping registry.

If the offender is on the 10-year registry for committing certain crimes (enticing a minor, kidnapping, unlawful detention, unlawful sexual activity with a minor in some circumstances, sexual abuse of a minor in some circumstances, unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17-year-old in some circumstances, voyeurism) the following requirements must be met before their application for removal will be considered:

  • It must be at least five years since their sentence ended
  • There is only one offense that required them to register
  • They have not been convicted for another offense (except minor traffic infractions)
  • They completed all required treatments
  • They have paid all restitution

If the offender is on the 10-year registry for committing other crimes, the following requirements must be met before their application for removal will be considered:

  • It must be at least ten years since their sentence ended
  • They have not been convicted for another felony or class A misdemeanor
  • They completed all required treatments
  • They have paid all restitution

If the offender is on the lifetime registry, the following requirements must be met before their application for removal will be considered:

  • It must be at least 20 years since their sentence ended
  • They have not been convicted for another felony or class A misdemeanor
  • They completed all required treatments
  • They have paid all restitution
  • They submit an evidence-based risk assessment

Back to top

What Happens If A Sex Offender Does Not Register In Utah?

If a sex offender in Utah fails to register, they may be charged with an additional third-degree felony. They will also be required to serve at least 30 days in jail. Additionally, they will be required to be registered for an additional year for every year they fail to register.


Back to top

Additional Resources

SONAR – The sex offender registry in Utah is called the Sex and Kidnap Offender Notification and Registration, and the Utah Department of Corrections runs it. It is publicly available online and can be searched by anyone.

About Adult Probation and Parole – The Utah Department of Corrections provides information on probation and parole or AP&P.

Resources For Persons Who Sexually Offend – The Utah Department of Corrections has a page dedicated to available resources for individuals convicted of sexual offenses.

Sex Offender Registry Requirements – The West Valley City Police Department provides much information on what is required to register as a sex offender in Utah.


Back to top

Utah Sex Offender Regulations Lawyer | Salt Lake County, UT

Failing to maintain sex offender regulations in Utah can result in serious penalties. If you or a loved one are charged with failing to comply with sex offender registration requirements, it is crucial to speak with a trusted criminal defense advocate as soon as possible. Attorney Susanne Gustin has over 30 years of experience defending Utah residents and visitors charged with sex offenses. She can protect your rights.

Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law accepts cases in Salt Lake County, UT, Weber County, Utah County, Wasatch County, Summit County, Morgan County, Davis County, Cache County, Tooele County, and Box Elder County. Call (801) 243-2814 to schedule a free consultation. Having a tough, experienced sex crime lawyer by your side could make all the difference in the outcome of your case.


Back to top