Failing to Register as a Sex Offender
A sex crime conviction carries harsh penalties in the state of Utah. Aside from expensive fines and imprisonment, offenders can have a difficult time regaining their freedom after they’ve served their time behind bars. Many have issues finding a job, suitable housing, or a home/business loan due to their criminal record. Additionally, Utah statutes requires them to register as a sex offender. If an individual chooses to not comply with the law, they will be charged with a third-degree felony.
Failing to register as a sex offender is a serious criminal offense that could send you back to jail. If you have been convicted of a sex crime and have failed to register as a sex offender, we recommend you rely on the experience of a criminal defense lawyer. This is where Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law steps in to help. Sex crime attorney Susanne Gustin will work hard to protect your rights.
Sale Lake County Sex Offender Registry Attorneys
Failing to register as a sex offender in Utah is a serious matter. If you or someone you know has been convicted of a sex crime that requires sex offender registry, contact Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law. Criminal defense attorney Susanne Gustin will work hard to build the strongest defense to secure the best possible outcome for your case.
Contact Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 to arrange a free, initial consultation and discuss your charges right away. Susanne Gustin represents clients in communities throughout Salt Lake County and Davis County. She also accepts cases in West Valley City, West Jordan, Sandy, Taylorsville, South Jordan, Layton, Bountiful, Clearfield, Kaysville, and Syracuse.
- Sex Offender Registry in Utah
- Offenses Under Sex Offender Registry
- How to Get Removed from the Utah Sex Offender Registry
- Additional Resources for Sex Offender Registry
Utah law (§77-41-105) requires convicted sex and kidnapping offenders to register with Utah’s sex offender registry. Offenders must provide all names and aliases by which they are known, primary and secondary addresses, fingerprints, telephone numbers, and a passport copy, among other personal information.
Sex offenders must register twice each year – once during their birth month, and semi-annually (six months afterwards). Failing to register as a sex offender in Utah’s registry can result in a third-degree felony. A third-degree felony in Utah is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
Registration is required of individuals who are committed to the Utah State Hospital as a result of their mental condition. Sex offender registry is also required of individuals that have committed felony sex offenses. These offenses are listed in Utah Code 77-41-102 and include the following, among others:
- Kidnapping: Utah Code 76-5-301
- Aggravated kidnapping: Utah Code 76-5-302
- Child kidnapping: Utah Code 76-5-301
- Rape: Utah Code 76-5-402
- Incest: Utah Code 76-7-102
- Lewdness: Utah Code 76-9-702
- Sexual extortion: Utah Code 76-5b-204
- Aggravated human trafficking: Utah Code 76-5-310
- Sodomy of a child: Utah Code 76-5-403
- Sexual battery: Utah Code 76-9-702
- Object rape: Utah Code 76-5-402
- Aggravated exploitation of prostitution: Utah Code 76-10-1306
- Aggravated sexual assault: Utah Code 76-5-405
There are a handful of offenses which qualify for potential removal off the Utah sex offender registry. These offenses include:
- Kidnapping (Utah Code 76-5-301)
- Unlawful detention (Utah Code 76-5-304)
- Unlawful sexual activity with a minor (Utah Code 76-5-401)
(This offense qualifies for potential removal only if at the time of the offense the offender was not more than 10 years older than the victim)
- Enticing a Minor (Utah Code 76-4-401) (Class A misdemeanor offenses only)
- Voyeurism (Utah Code 76-9-702.7) (Class A misdemeanor offenses only)
- Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a 16 or 17-year-old (Utah Code 76-5-401.2) (This offense qualifies for potential only if at the time of the offense the offender was not more than 15 years older than the victim)
Per Utah Code 77-41-112, an individual may petition the court for early removal off the Kidnap Offender Registry if they’ve met the following criteria:
- At least five years must have passed since they completed their jail/ prison sentence
- They have paid all fines and fees (including restitution)
- They do not have any other criminal convictions
- They have successfully completed all treatment ordered by the court or the Board of Pardons and Parole relating to the offense
- The offense is the only offense for which the offender was required to register
UDC: Sex Offender Registry – Visit the Utah Department of Corrections (UDC) website which contains a page on the SONAR (Sex and Kidnap Offender Notification and Registration). Click the link to view public specific information contained in the registry as mandated by Utah Code § 77-41. The webpage also lists offenses that require sex offender registry.
Utah Code: Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry – Visit the official Utah Code website to view Chapter 41 which constitutes the sex and kidnap offender registry. Click the link to view definitions related to the term and penalties for committing the offense.
Salt Lake City Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys
If you or someone you know has been arrested for a sex crime, then we urge you to contact Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law. Attorney Susanne Gustin is an experienced criminal defense attorney who will make every effort to fight the allegations against you or have your charges reduced or even dismissed. She also has the skills and experience required to defend sex crimes charges.
Susanne Gustin represents clients in Salt Lake County, Davis County, Sandy, South Jordan, Mount Olympus, Alta, Holladay, South Salt Lake, Herriman, East Millcreek, Cottonwood West, and neighboring cities. Your freedom is at stake so it’s best to call (801) 243-2814 today to discuss your charges during a free consultation.