When one thinks of criminal mischief, one may think of mischievous teenagers terrorizing a neighborhood. Criminal mischief involves a number of activities that generally involve property damage.
Some examples of criminal mischief include, but are not limited to, the following:
If you or someone you know has been charged with criminal mischief in violation of Utah Criminal Code 76-6-106, contact Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law.
Susanne Gustin is an attorney who has been practicing Utah law for twenty-five years. Attorney Gustin is an experienced and dedicated litigator who will fight to obtain the best possible result for you.
A conviction for criminal mischief can seriously damage a young person’s reputation and future. It is imperative that he or she speak to a lawyer immediately.
Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law takes clients in Salt Lake County, and in the surrounding areas like, Toole County, Utah County, Summit County, Weber County, and Davis County, Utah.
Call (801) 243-2814 now to schedule a one-on-one consultation with our experienced criminal defense attorney.
According to Utah Criminal Code Section 76-6-106, a person commits criminal mischief if he or she does the following:
Criminal mischief may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony offense, depending on the value of the property damaged.
As used in Utah Criminal Code Section 76-6-106, a “critical infrastructure” is defined as follows:
The penalty for a criminal mischief conviction in Salt Lake City, Utah will depend on (remove either) the amount of property damage the alleged offender caused, or the circumstances surrounding the criminal mischief charge.
Criminal Mischief is punished as follows:
If an individual commits criminal mischief by destroying property in order to defraud an insurer, the offense is a third-degree felony.
Third-degree felonies are punishable by 0- to-five (5) years in prison and up to a $5,000 fine plus a 90% surcharge.
If an individual who intentionally and unlawfully tampers with another’s property and recklessly endangers a human life, can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor; however, if such activity only endangers a person’s health or safety, the individual faces a Class B Misdemeanor.
Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up six (6) months in jail and up to a $1,000 fines plus a 90% surcharge.
Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine plus a 90% surcharge.
If an individual’s conduct recklessly causes or threatens a substantial interruption or impairment of any critical infrastructure, he or she can be charged with a second-degree felony.
In Utah, a second-degree felony is punishable by one-to-fifteen (15) years in prison and up to $10,000 fine plus a 90% surcharge.
If you or your minor child has been accused of criminal mischief, then contact Susanne Gustin.
Susanne Gustin has practiced criminal defense in Salt Lake City, Utah for years and understands the ins-and-outs of litigation in Salt Lake County courtrooms. Speaking with an experienced attorney before talking to law enforcement in any criminal investigation is imperative.
She handles cases throughout Salt Lake County and areas like Toole County, Weber County, Utah County, Wasatch County, Summit County, and Davis County, Utah.
Call (801) 243-2814 or submit an online evaluation to learn more about what we can do to help your case.
This article was last updated on Wednesday, October 3, 2017.