Shoplifting and Retail Theft
Many people don’t realize how serious shoplifting is until the store manager refuses to dismiss the charges. Retail executives are trained to prosecute people for shoplifting and employee pilferage, embezzlement and other types of retail theft to the fullest extent of the law.
If you are being charged with shoplifting or retail theft, don’t make the mistake of thinking the “minor” charges will disappear on their own. They won’t go away and being found guilty doesn’t just mean a slap on the wrist.
A conviction for retail theft can follow you around for years and seriously hamper your ability in a future job search. Being charged with theft, credit card fraud, theft by deception and shoplifting are serious charges, even if it is your first offense.
Salt Lake City Shoplifting and Retail Theft Defense Attorney
Perhaps it was a misunderstanding or temptation just got the best of you. Whatever the circumstances, a conviction for shoplifting can have serious consequences.
Your decision on whom to hire to help protect your rights and defend you in court will be one of the most important decisions of your life. If you are facing shoplifting, retail crime, or any other theft and property crime, you are encouraged to call Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 to plan your free consultation.
At Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law, Susanne Gustin has the trial experience and credentials to work with you for a dismissal of your charges, or for the most favorable options. Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law meets with clients in Salt Lake City and surrounding counties.
Utah Shoplifting and Retail Theft Information Center
- Shoplifting and Retail Theft Overview
- Penalties for Shoplifting
- Utah Shoplifting and Retail Theft Resources
Utah classifies shoplifting and retail crime as a class A misdemeanor if the property was $500 or more but less than $1,500. These penalties will increase depending on the cost of the stolen merchandise, whether the actor is a repeat defender, and if the offender had written notice.
A Class “A” misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in jail, plus financial penalties. A conviction on a second-degree felony for theft or fraud can result in a prison sentence of up to 15 years and other fines and penalties.
National Association for Shoplifting Prevention– this site summarizes Utah’s shoplifting and retail crime laws and provides self-help and support resources for offenders.
Utah Code– This state site explains the legislation and penalties for shoplifting and retail crime.
Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law Salt Lake County Shoplifting and Retail Theft Defense Attorney
Even a few days in jail can be a terrible punishment to some people, while others may be more concerned about a conviction on their record, or the discovery of the charge by an employer or spouse. Whatever the circumstances, a proficient attorney can work towards your best options.
If you have been charged with shoplifting or retail crimes, call Susanne Gustin Attorney at Law at (801) 243-2814 to get started on your defense strategy. This firm consults with clients in Salt Lake County, Davis County, and surrounding regions.