The legality of marijuana is something that seems to be making the headlines almost constantly these days. One of Utah’s neighboring states has legalized the drug on a state level; however, marijuana remains illegal on the federal level. Utah isn’t one of the states that decriminalized marijuana, so having any amount of it in the state is a crime.
Are marijuana charges felonies or misdemeanors?
All marijuana charges except two are considered felony charges. The two misdemeanors are possession of marijuana in an amount of less than an ounce and possession of up to 16 ounces of marijuana not yet extracted from the plant. All other drug charges are felony charges.
What are the possible penalties for marijuana charges in Utah?
Marijuana charges can lead to a host of penalties. If you are convicted of selling marijuana, you are facing up to 15 years in prison. In fact, if you sell to a minor or within 1,000 feet of a school, there is a five-year minimum sentence if you are convicted.
Is medical marijuana legal in Utah?
In all but a few very narrow cases, medical marijuana isn’t legal in Utah. A person who is suffering from an epileptic disorder is allowed to have a small amount of cannabidiol for medical treatment.
Determining a suitable defense for a marijuana charge must take several factors into account, which entails a working knowledge of the current laws in Utah. You should begin exploring your options for a defense as soon as possible after you learn what charges you are facing. Once you decide on a strategy, you can begin building your defense.
Source: FindLaw, “Utah Marijuana Laws,” accessed Aug. 20, 2015